Legislative Commission on Low Income Energy and Water Assistance

In June 2021, Governor Polis signed HB1105, which creates a new source of funding to provide assistance to low income electric and gas customers.

Among other things, this bill also modified an existing commission to create the Legislative Commission on Low Income Energy and Water Assistance within the Colorado Energy Office (CEO).

The Commission launched on May 1, 2022, and is composed of seven members including:

  • Agency/Organization representatives:
    • Luke Ilderton (Commission Chair), Energy Outreach Colorado
    • Theresa Kullen, Department of Human Services
    • Michelle Butler, Colorado Energy Office
  • Four members appointed by the Governor:
    • Andrew Hawkins (Commission Vice-Chair), representing a combined electric and natural gas utility (Xcel Energy)
    • Regina Bosma, representing an entity that serves a population eligible for low-income assistance (Arapahoe County Weatherization Division)
    • Doug Bursnall, representing an electric utility (Colorado Springs Utilities)
    • Elizabeth Gillitzer-Gallardo, representing a water utility (Aurora Water). 

Crew explains window weatherization to family

Board Meetings

The next board meeting is scheduled for May 3rd, 2024 at 10:30 AM MT. All meetings are open to the public.

Register to attend upcoming board meetings

Click the link below to access all meeting materials. Minutes for each meeting will be posted in the meeting materials folder after approval by the Board in the following meeting.

See all Meeting Minutes, Recordings, Agendas, and Presentations



CORA/Records Requests
The Colorado Energy Office is committed to transparency and open government in accordance with the Colorado Open Records Act (“CORA”) (§ 24-72-201 to 206, C.R.S.). All CORA requests to the office should be submitted to CEO_CORA@state.co.us. CEO is a non-regulatory department within the Governor's Office - more information about CORA is available here.